Guest Podcast as a Filipino-American Teacher

I first met CherylAnne Amendola in Edinburgh, Scotland in June 2019. We were both participants in the Gilder-Lehrman Seminar on Thomas Jefferson and the Enlightenment, and we hit it off immediately. Not only do we share a passion for history, but we also share a passion for the nerdy things in life, and she’s often one of the first people I talk to after a new episode of The Mandalorian is dropped on Disney+.

I have so much respect for CherylAnne. Her passion for education is a force of nature, and she won the 2017 New Jersey History Teacher of the Year by Gilder-Lerhman. CherylAnne has an amazing presence in any discussion, so when she invited me to be interviewed, I honestly just couldn’t ignore the opportunity to hang out with her. (Virtually, of course. She lives in New Jersey while I’m in Michigan! Also we’re still in the midst of a pandemic.) CherylAnne maintains her own blog Teaching History Her Way, blogs regularly, published a children’s book, and hosts a historical cooking show in addition to her new podcast. Check it out!

Discussing my perspectives as a Filipino-American was a topic that was near and dear to my heart. It’s become increasingly important to share my cultural identity and the way that perspective has shaped my personal and professional outlooks. Listen below, and I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Checkout the Teaching History Her Way Podcast below.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑